GLM-5.3 vs Grok 4.6
Published test results, prices, limits and features, side by side. Share the link to show someone exactly this comparison.
At a glance
Capability index
GLM-5.3155.6
Grok 4.6156.4
Grok 4.6 is 0.8 points higher.
Price per 1M tokens
GLM-5.3$2.15
Grok 4.6$3.00
GLM-5.3 is 28% cheaper.
Context window
GLM-5.31M tokens
Grok 4.6500K tokens
GLM-5.3 takes in 2.0 times as much.
Released
GLM-5.3Aug 14, 2026
Grok 4.6Aug 12, 2026
GLM-5.3 is 2 days newer.
Where each scores higher
On the 23 tests both have taken, each on its own scale. A gap of a point or two can sit within a test’s margin of error.
GLM-5.3
- Arena text+25 points
- LiveBench coding+2.2 points
- Arena WebDev+4 points
- Arena coding+14 points
- FrontierMath Tiers 1–3+2.8 points
- Arena math+47 points
- LiveBench agentic coding+3.9 points
- DeepSWE+1.5 points
- CursorBench+1.2 points
- Arena creative writing+9 points
- Arena instruction following+25 points
- Arena hard prompts+24 points
Grok 4.6
- LiveBench overall+1.9 points
- LiveBench mathematics+4.7 points
- Mock AIME 2024–2025+8.1 points
- FrontierMath Tier 4+2.4 points
- SimpleQA Verified+8.3 points
- LiveBench language+3.8 points
- LiveBench instructions+2.6 points
- LiveBench data analysis+3.6 points
- LiveBench reasoning+4.7 points
- GPQA Diamond+3.1 points
- Chess puzzles+19.0 points
Everything side by side
| Measure | ||
|---|---|---|
| Model | ||
| Maker | Z.ai | xAI |
| Sold here by | Z.AI | xAI |
| API model ID | glm-5.3 | grok-4.6 |
| Released | Aug 14, 2026 | Aug 12, 2026 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not reported | Feb 1, 2026 |
| Weights | Open: downloadable | Closed: hosted access only |
| Developer’s country | China | United States |
| Hosts selling it | 75including Z.ai directly | 35including xAI directly |
| Test results | ||
| Capability index | 155.6#27 of 274 | 156.4 (best of these models)#21 of 274 |
| LiveBench overall | 76.1%#32 of 66 | 78.0% (best of these models)#18 of 66 |
| Arena text | 1479 (best of these models)#27 of 413 | 1454#73 of 413 |
| LiveBench coding | 79.0% (best of these models)#26 of 66 | 76.8%#42 of 66 |
| Arena WebDev | 1623 (best of these models)#20 of 138 | 1620#23 of 138 |
| Arena coding | 1521 (best of these models)#34 of 408 | 1507#64 of 408 |
| LiveBench mathematics | 87.9%#43 of 66 | 92.6% (best of these models)#25 of 66 |
| Mock AIME 2024–2025 | 91.1%#65 of 297 | 99.2% (best of these models)#15 of 297 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1–3 | 68.8% (best of these models)#25 of 114 | 66.0%#28 of 114 |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 | 29.3%#36 of 70 | 31.7% (best of these models)#33 of 70 |
| Arena math | 1494 (best of these models)#20 of 396 | 1448#78 of 396 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 41.0%#44 of 86 | 49.3% (best of these models)#27 of 86 |
| LiveBench agentic coding | 60.9% (best of these models)#15 of 66 | 57.0%#22 of 66 |
| DeepSWE | 69.0% (best of these models)#16 of 69 | 67.5%#20 of 69 |
| CursorBench | 42.6% (best of these models)#20 of 62 | 41.4%#24 of 62 |
| LiveBench language | 79.9%#31 of 66 | 83.7% (best of these models)#19 of 66 |
| LiveBench instructions | 69.3%#33 of 66 | 71.9% (best of these models)#20 of 66 |
| Arena creative writing | 1454 (best of these models)#34 of 411 | 1445#52 of 411 |
| Arena instruction following | 1476 (best of these models)#25 of 413 | 1451#63 of 413 |
| LiveBench data analysis | 70.2%#51 of 66 | 73.9% (best of these models)#40 of 66 |
| LiveBench reasoning | 85.8%#35 of 66 | 90.5% (best of these models)#12 of 66 |
| GPQA Diamond | 90.9%#34 of 319 | 94.0% (best of these models)#11 of 319 |
| Chess puzzles | 21.0%#80 of 227 | 40.0% (best of these models)#24 of 227 |
| Arena hard prompts | 1503 (best of these models)#25 of 413 | 1479#67 of 413 |
| Price per million tokens | ||
| Input | $1.40 (best of these models) | $2.00 |
| Output | $4.40 (best of these models) | $6.00 |
| Blended, 3 input to 1 output | $2.15 (best of these models) | $3.00 |
| Cached input | $0.26 (best of these models) | $0.50 |
| Writing to the cache | Free | Not reported |
| Long requests | No separate price reported | $4.00 in, $12.00 outabove 200K tokens |
| The maker’s own price | This listing | This listing |
| Limits | ||
| Context window | 1M tokens (best of these models) | 500K tokens |
| Max input | 1M tokens (best of these models) | 372K tokens |
| Max output | 131.1K tokens | 500K tokens (best of these models) |
| Features | ||
| Reads | text | images, PDFs and text |
| Produces | text | text |
| Reasoning | Yeseffort low, high, max; can be switched off; thinking budget can be set | Yeseffort low, medium, high, xhigh |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Structured output | Yes, such as JSON | Yes, such as JSON |
| File attachments | No | Yes |
| Temperature setting | Supported | Supported |
Bold marks the better value in each row. Prices are each model’s own list price, or the middle price across hosts when the maker does not sell it, blended as three input tokens for every output token. Test results as published by LiveBench (Apache-2.0), Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Datacurve DeepSWE, compiled by Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Cursor CursorBench, compiled by Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Arena (CC BY 4.0); model details and prices from models.dev (MIT). Confirm pricing with the provider before use.