Grok 4.6 vs Qwen3.8 Max
Published test results, prices, limits and features, side by side. Share the link to show someone exactly this comparison.
- Grok 4.6xAI
- Qwen3.8 MaxAlibaba
At a glance
Capability index
Grok 4.6156.4
Qwen3.8 Max156.4
They score the same on the index.
Price per 1M tokens
Grok 4.6$3.00
Qwen3.8 Max$3.00
They cost the same.
Context window
Grok 4.6500K tokens
Qwen3.8 Max1M tokens
Qwen3.8 Max takes in 2.0 times as much.
Released
Grok 4.6Aug 12, 2026
Qwen3.8 MaxAug 3, 2026
Grok 4.6 is 9 days newer.
Where each scores higher
On the 22 tests both have taken, each on its own scale. A gap of a point or two can sit within a test’s margin of error.
Grok 4.6
- LiveBench coding+3.9 points
- LiveBench mathematics+1.3 points
- SimpleQA Verified+3.5 points
- DeepSWE+10.0 points
- LiveBench language+4.0 points
- LiveBench reasoning+2.3 points
- GPQA Diamond+1.3 points
- Chess puzzles+11.0 points
Qwen3.8 Max
- LiveBench overall+0.4 points
- Arena text+28 points
- Arena WebDev+52 points
- Arena coding+17 points
- Mock AIME 2024–2025+0.3 points
- FrontierMath Tiers 1–3+8.8 points
- FrontierMath Tier 4+14.6 points
- Arena math+50 points
- LiveBench agentic coding+7.6 points
- LiveBench instructions+2.2 points
- Arena creative writing+23 points
- Arena instruction following+23 points
- LiveBench data analysis+4.5 points
- Arena hard prompts+24 points
1 more test has results for only one of them; the table below lists every result.
Everything side by side
| Measure | ||
|---|---|---|
| Model | ||
| Maker | xAI | Alibaba |
| Sold here by | xAI | Alibaba |
| API model ID | grok-4.6 | qwen3.8-max |
| Released | Aug 12, 2026 | Aug 3, 2026 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Feb 1, 2026 | Not reported |
| Weights | Closed: hosted access only | Closed: hosted access only |
| Developer’s country | United States | China |
| Hosts selling it | 35including xAI directly | 36including Alibaba directly |
| Test results | ||
| Capability index | 156.4#21 of 274 | 156.4#22 of 274 |
| LiveBench overall | 78.0%#18 of 66 | 78.5% (best of these models)#17 of 66 |
| Arena text | 1454#73 of 413 | 1482 (best of these models)#23 of 413 |
| LiveBench coding | 76.8% (best of these models)#42 of 66 | 72.9%#52 of 66 |
| Arena WebDev | 1620#23 of 138 | 1671 (best of these models)#10 of 138 |
| Arena coding | 1507#64 of 408 | 1524 (best of these models)#28 of 408 |
| LiveBench mathematics | 92.6% (best of these models)#25 of 66 | 91.3%#27 of 66 |
| Mock AIME 2024–2025 | 99.2%#15 of 297 | 99.4% (best of these models)#14 of 297 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1–3 | 66.0%#28 of 114 | 74.7% (best of these models)#18 of 114 |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 | 31.7%#33 of 70 | 46.3% (best of these models)#25 of 70 |
| Arena math | 1448#78 of 396 | 1498 (best of these models)#18 of 396 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 49.3% (best of these models)#27 of 86 | 45.8%#37 of 86 |
| LiveBench agentic coding | 57.0%#22 of 66 | 64.7% (best of these models)#7 of 66 |
| DeepSWE | 67.5% (best of these models)#20 of 69 | 57.5%#36 of 69 |
| CursorBench | 41.4%#24 of 62 | Not tested |
| LiveBench language | 83.7% (best of these models)#19 of 66 | 79.7%#34 of 66 |
| LiveBench instructions | 71.9%#20 of 66 | 74.1% (best of these models)#13 of 66 |
| Arena creative writing | 1445#52 of 411 | 1468 (best of these models)#20 of 411 |
| Arena instruction following | 1451#63 of 413 | 1474 (best of these models)#31 of 413 |
| LiveBench data analysis | 73.9%#40 of 66 | 78.4% (best of these models)#24 of 66 |
| LiveBench reasoning | 90.5% (best of these models)#12 of 66 | 88.2%#23 of 66 |
| GPQA Diamond | 94.0% (best of these models)#11 of 319 | 92.7%#24 of 319 |
| Chess puzzles | 40.0% (best of these models)#24 of 227 | 29.0%#54 of 227 |
| Arena hard prompts | 1479#67 of 413 | 1503 (best of these models)#27 of 413 |
| Price per million tokens | ||
| Input | $2.00 | $2.00 |
| Output | $6.00 | $6.00 |
| Blended, 3 input to 1 output | $3.00 | $3.00 |
| Cached input | $0.50 | $0.25 (best of these models) |
| Writing to the cache | Not reported | $2.50 |
| Long requests | $4.00 in, $12.00 outabove 200K tokens | No separate price reported |
| The maker’s own price | This listing | This listing |
| Limits | ||
| Context window | 500K tokens | 1M tokens (best of these models) |
| Max input | 372K tokens | 991K tokens (best of these models) |
| Max output | 500K tokens (best of these models) | 131.1K tokens |
| Features | ||
| Reads | images, PDFs and text | images, PDFs, text and video |
| Produces | text | text |
| Reasoning | Yeseffort low, medium, high, xhigh | Yeseffort low, medium, xhigh; can be switched off; thinking budget can be set |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Structured output | Yes, such as JSON | Yes, such as JSON |
| File attachments | Yes | Yes |
| Temperature setting | Supported | Supported |
Bold marks the better value in each row. Prices are each model’s own list price, or the middle price across hosts when the maker does not sell it, blended as three input tokens for every output token. Test results as published by LiveBench (Apache-2.0), Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Datacurve DeepSWE, compiled by Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Cursor CursorBench, compiled by Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Arena (CC BY 4.0); model details and prices from models.dev (MIT). Confirm pricing with the provider before use.