MiniMax-M3 vs Qwen3.8 Max
Published test results, prices, limits and features, side by side. Share the link to show someone exactly this comparison.
- MiniMax-M3MiniMax
- Qwen3.8 MaxAlibaba
At a glance
Capability index
MiniMax-M3146.9
Qwen3.8 Max156.4
Qwen3.8 Max is 9.5 points higher.
Price per 1M tokens
MiniMax-M3$0.525
Qwen3.8 Max$3.00
MiniMax-M3 is 5.7 times cheaper.
Context window
MiniMax-M31M tokens
Qwen3.8 Max1M tokens
They take in about the same.
Released
MiniMax-M3Jun 1, 2026
Qwen3.8 MaxAug 3, 2026
Qwen3.8 Max is 2 months newer.
Where each scores higher
On the 18 tests both have taken, each on its own scale. A gap of a point or two can sit within a test’s margin of error.
MiniMax-M3
No shared test where it scores higher.
Qwen3.8 Max
- LiveBench overall+11.2 points
- Arena text+42 points
- LiveBench coding+4.7 points
- Arena WebDev+189 points
- Arena coding+29 points
- LiveBench mathematics+14.4 points
- Mock AIME 2024–2025+28.3 points
- Arena math+66 points
- LiveBench agentic coding+24.0 points
- LiveBench language+2.8 points
- LiveBench instructions+16.6 points
- Arena creative writing+62 points
- Arena instruction following+39 points
- LiveBench data analysis+2.2 points
- LiveBench reasoning+13.7 points
- GPQA Diamond+1.8 points
- Chess puzzles+15.0 points
- Arena hard prompts+41 points
4 more tests have results for only one of them; the table below lists every result.
Everything side by side
| Measure | ||
|---|---|---|
| Model | ||
| Maker | MiniMax | Alibaba |
| Sold here by | MiniMax (minimax.io) | Alibaba |
| API model ID | MiniMax-M3 | qwen3.8-max |
| Released | Jun 1, 2026 | Aug 3, 2026 |
| Knowledge cutoff | Jan 2025 | Not reported |
| Weights | Open: downloadable | Closed: hosted access only |
| Developer’s country | China | China |
| Hosts selling it | 56including MiniMax directly | 36including Alibaba directly |
| Test results | ||
| Capability index | 146.9#68 of 274 | 156.4 (best of these models)#22 of 274 |
| LiveBench overall | 67.3%#61 of 66 | 78.5% (best of these models)#17 of 66 |
| Arena text | 1440#96 of 413 | 1482 (best of these models)#23 of 413 |
| LiveBench coding | 68.2%#64 of 66 | 72.9% (best of these models)#52 of 66 |
| Arena WebDev | 1482#58 of 138 | 1671 (best of these models)#10 of 138 |
| Arena coding | 1494#86 of 408 | 1524 (best of these models)#28 of 408 |
| LiveBench mathematics | 77.0%#65 of 66 | 91.3% (best of these models)#27 of 66 |
| Mock AIME 2024–2025 | 71.1%#133 of 297 | 99.4% (best of these models)#14 of 297 |
| Arena math | 1432#102 of 396 | 1498 (best of these models)#18 of 396 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1–3 | Not tested | 74.7%#18 of 114 |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 | Not tested | 46.3%#25 of 70 |
| SimpleQA Verified | Not tested | 45.8%#37 of 86 |
| LiveBench agentic coding | 40.7%#60 of 66 | 64.7% (best of these models)#7 of 66 |
| DeepSWE | Not tested | 57.5%#36 of 69 |
| LiveBench language | 76.8%#45 of 66 | 79.7% (best of these models)#34 of 66 |
| LiveBench instructions | 57.5%#61 of 66 | 74.1% (best of these models)#13 of 66 |
| Arena creative writing | 1406#99 of 411 | 1468 (best of these models)#20 of 411 |
| Arena instruction following | 1434#88 of 413 | 1474 (best of these models)#31 of 413 |
| LiveBench data analysis | 76.2%#34 of 66 | 78.4% (best of these models)#24 of 66 |
| LiveBench reasoning | 74.5%#61 of 66 | 88.2% (best of these models)#23 of 66 |
| GPQA Diamond | 90.9%#34 of 319 | 92.7% (best of these models)#24 of 319 |
| Chess puzzles | 14.0%#113 of 227 | 29.0% (best of these models)#54 of 227 |
| Arena hard prompts | 1463#90 of 413 | 1503 (best of these models)#27 of 413 |
| Price per million tokens | ||
| Input | $0.30 (best of these models) | $2.00 |
| Output | $1.20 (best of these models) | $6.00 |
| Blended, 3 input to 1 output | $0.525 (best of these models) | $3.00 |
| Cached input | $0.06 (best of these models) | $0.25 |
| Writing to the cache | Not reported | $2.50 |
| Long requests | $0.60 in, $2.40 outabove 512K tokens | No separate price reported |
| The maker’s own price | This listing | This listing |
| Limits | ||
| Context window | 1M tokens | 1M tokens |
| Max input | 512K tokens | 991K tokens (best of these models) |
| Max output | 512K tokens (best of these models) | 131.1K tokens |
| Features | ||
| Reads | images, text and video | images, PDFs, text and video |
| Produces | text | text |
| Reasoning | Yeseffort low, medium, high; can be switched off; thinking budget can be set | Yeseffort low, medium, xhigh; can be switched off; thinking budget can be set |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Structured output | Yes, such as JSON | Yes, such as JSON |
| File attachments | Yes | Yes |
| Temperature setting | Supported | Supported |
Bold marks the better value in each row. Prices are each model’s own list price, or the middle price across hosts when the maker does not sell it, blended as three input tokens for every output token. Test results as published by LiveBench (Apache-2.0), Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Datacurve DeepSWE, compiled by Epoch AI (CC BY 4.0), Arena (CC BY 4.0); model details and prices from models.dev (MIT). Confirm pricing with the provider before use.